This week marked Bug’s 18 month appointment, which thankfully was inclusive of only one shot. She didn’t know the difference, but I did. On to the stats:

Weight: 27 lbs, 14 ozs, 90th percentile
Height: 34.5 inches, over the 97th percentile (literally off the charts)
Head: 46.5 inches, 50th percentile

For those of you playing along at home, you will note that her head shrunk by nearly an inch! Now what I should explain is that outside of shots, the two worst things for Caitlin during these appointments is having her ears checked and getting her head measured. I get the ear thing; no one wants something shoved in the ear, but a tape measure around your head causing screaming and thrashing? I guess she thinks they’re going to squeeze her brain out. So reality dictates that given how she reacted this time and last time to the measuring of her head, we likely had a misread last time. The nurse measured three times on Monday with the same result. I think it’s funnier to say her head shrunk.

Transition week started this week at day care. Caitlin seems to be having no problem with spending half a day in the other room. The care takers in Infant 2 believe that the transition for her will likely be the easiest of all the kids. Hooray! Tomorrow and Friday they spend almost the whole day in Toddler 1 and will be taking their naps on cots instead of in cribs. I can’t wait to hear how that works out. We’ll be taking advantage of this transition from crib to cot, though, when #2 gets here and we likely move Caitlin into a toddler bed.

And now for my sad story, at least to me… I’m wearing maternity pants for the first time (this pregnancy) today. I’m almost 13 weeks and I gave in. I really was hoping to hold out until 4 months, and this is likely a transition period related to comfort, but this morning I just couldn’t handle my regular jeans cutting into my expanding belly. Yes, I know that women show earlier in subsequent pregnancies, but I’ll be damned if I didn’t want to move to maternity clothes until 4 or 5 months again. Of course tomorrow I may revert back to my pre-pregnancy jeans trying to trick myself into making them work for at least another few days.

Ultrascreen on Friday. That should be barrels of fun.

